Please enable JavaScript in your browser to view this site in optimal condition.
When displaying with JavaScript disabled, some functions may not be available or correct information may not be obtained.

Hiroshima for Global Peace


On August 6, 2017, the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Ceremony was held in Hiroshima. Representatives from 80 countries and the EU, along with Japan, participated, including:

  • Ambassadorial-level—Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, France, India, Israel, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Philippines, Pakistan, Poland, the United Kingdom and the United States
  • Non-Ambassadorial-level—Austria, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, South Korea, Norway, Russia and UAE (Note: underline added to denote countries whose ambassadorial-level representatives have attended the ceremony in the past three years)
  • Not attending—Chile, China, Germany, Mexico, Netherlands, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Turkey, North Korea (Note: underline added to denote countries whose representatives have attended the ceremony at least once in the past three years)

At various fora, Japan has proposed that the world’s political leaders visit Hiroshima and Nagasaki, to witness the humanitarian consequences of nuclear weapons with their own eyes. In 2017, the following leaders visited Hiroshima: Prime Minister of Czech Republic, Ministers of Bangladesh, Lithuania, and Bosnia and Herzegovina.190

[190] See the Hiroshima City’s homepage (

< BackNext >