Please enable JavaScript in your browser to view this site in optimal condition.
When displaying with JavaScript disabled, some functions may not be available or correct information may not be obtained.

Hiroshima for Global Peace

(2) Countries Surveyed in This Project

In the Hiroshima Report 2020, the performances of 36 countries were surveyed, based on their nuclear significance and geographical distribution. The list includes members of the Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative (NPDI), members of the New Agenda Coalition (NAC), and participants in the Joint Statements on the Humanitarian Consequences of Nuclear Weapons. The Hiroshima Report 2021 continues to survey those same countries, as follows:

➢ Five nuclear-weapon states under the NPT (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States);
➢ Non-state parties to the NPT possessing or believed to possess nuclear weapons (India, Israel and Pakistan);
➢ Non-nuclear-weapon states under the NPT (Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Egypt, Germany, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, the Philippines, Poland, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Turkey and the UAE); and
➢ Other (North Korea1)

1 North Korea declared its suspension from the NPT in 1993 and its withdrawal in 2003, and conducted nuclear tests in 2006, 2009, 2013, twice in 2016, and 2017. However, there is no agreement among the states parties on North Korea’s official NPT status.

< BackNext >