Please enable JavaScript in your browser to view this site in optimal condition.
When displaying with JavaScript disabled, some functions may not be available or correct information may not be obtained.

Hiroshima for Global Peace

About SDGsSustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) were formally adopted on 25 September 2015 by United Nations General Assembly. We report about the SDGs to make a sustainable society.

1 What is SDGs?

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a universal goals that every countries take action to end poverty, protect the planet and improve the lives and prospects of everyone, everywhere. SDGs are composed of 17 Goals and 169 Targets and the pledge to leave no one behind.

The SDGs replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) which started a global effort in 2000 to tackle the indignity of poverty. Building on the success and momentum of the MDGs, the new goals cover more ground, with ambitions to address inequalities, economic growth, decent jobs, cities and human settlements, industrialization, oceans, ecosystems, energy, climate change, sustainable consumption and production, peace and justice.

2 What are 17 Goals of SDGs?

Goal 1: End poverty in all its forms everywhere

Goal 2: Zero hunger

Goal 3: Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages

Goal 4: Quality education

Goal 5: Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls

Goal 6: Ensure access to water and sanitation for all

Goal 7: Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy

Goal 8: Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all

Goal 9: Build resilient infrastructure, promote sustainable industrialization and foster innovation

Goal 10: Reduce inequality within and among countries

Goal 11: Make cities inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable

Goal 12: Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns

Goal 13: Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts

Goal 14: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources

Goal 15: Sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, halt and reverse land degradation, halt biodiversity loss

Goal 16: Promote just, peaceful and inclusive societies

Goal 17: Revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development

3 Initiative of Japanese Government: SDGs Future City

Initiatives by local authorities in order to achieve ‘Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)’ are meaningful to realize regional revitalization. As one measure, in June 2018, the Government of Japan selected 29 municipalities including Hiroshima Prefecture to become “SDGs Future Cities”.

4 Hiroshima Prefecture and SDGs

Hiroshima Prefecture was selected as “SDGs Future City” by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe on June 15, 2018. Please see for the detail including our main proposal.

Information related to this page

SDGs and Peace

Tags associated with this article